Lead conversion rate benchmarks
Lead conversion rate is the share of leads that advance to the next stage of the funnel — the stage measured varies by source. Here is every published figure we can show, side by side, with what each one counts.
1.8% to 4.1%
"Lead conversion rate" is used for at least four different funnel stages, and published figures for one stage are routinely misquoted as if they described another. Ruler Analytics' 2026 report (5M+ tracked conversions across 13 industries) measures visitor-to-qualified-lead-or-sale at a 5.13% average, ranging from 1.9% (Travel) to 7.9% (Automotive, Legal). First Page Sage's growth-marketing benchmark, from a much smaller 140-account, five-year dataset, puts visitor-to-lead at 2.2%. LeanData's pipeline benchmarking report (with Atrium, Clearbit and others) measures a later stage — lead-form-to-MQL — at a 33% median. None of these is a "lead-to-customer" rate, and we found no current source with disclosed methodology for that specific, furthest-downstream stage; rather than fabricate one, this page states that gap plainly. 30 figures from 1 source, grouped by what they count. We never average them.
Published lead conversion rate figures by way of counting, from 1.8% to 4.1%. Every figure is listed in the source list below.
Tap or hover a point to see its source.
Key findings
Each one cites its source figures.
In First Page Sage's 2019–2025 client data, visitors arriving from SEO convert to leads at the highest rate of the 13 channels it reports (4.1%) and PR-driven visitors at the lowest (1.8%) — a gap of more than 2x within the same funnel stage.
First Page SageAcross 17 industries in the same dataset, visitor-to-lead rates sit in a tighter band than channels do: Addiction Treatment and Environmental Services are lowest (2.1%), Apparel & Fashion and eCommerce highest (3.2%).
First Page SageAll 30 figures here come from a single publisher's own and client sites (about 45% B2B, 20% B2C, 35% mixed), so they show how rates vary within one dataset but are not a second independent confirmation of the overall level.
First Page SageSource by source
Open any source for its definition, sample and method.
First Page SageWebsite Traffic-to-Lead Conversion Rate: 2026 Report · 2026 report2.1%visitor-to-lead / qualified lead · Addiction Treatment3.2%visitor-to-lead / qualified lead · Apparel & Fashion2.5%visitor-to-lead / qualified lead · B2B SaaSGrade B
- What counts
- Visitor-to-lead: a website visitor completing a contact form, booking an appointment, requesting a demo, or a similar lead-qualifying action.
- Statistic
- Average (publisher label; mean vs median not specified)
- Sample
- First Page Sage's own website plus client websites worked with 2019–2025 (client mix approximately 45% B2B, 20% B2C, 35% mixed); numeric site/client count not disclosed.
- Data window
- 2019–2025
- Method
- First Page Sage's own site and client sites tracked 2019–2025, broken out by industry and by traffic source/channel.
- Published cuts
- industry (17 verticals) · traffic source/channel (13 channels, incl. SEO, SEM/PPC, email, direct, organic/paid social, PR, ABM, video, public speaking, trade shows, webinars)
- Limitations
- No numeric sample size disclosed
- Same publisher family as the existing first-page-sage-growth source on this page, so not an independent second source for the site's 2-source minimum
- Agency/client population may not represent the broader web
- Licence
- Reported here as factual findings in our own wording and presentation, with attribution and a link to the source. This is not a claim that First Page Sage has granted a reproduction licence, and we do not copy its prose, charts, tables or page design. No terms or content-licence page could be found on firstpagesage.com (confirmed independently), and this publisher's other reports are already treated the same way on this site.
- Checked
- Oct 1, 2026 · Read the source
3 more publishers, linked but not quoted
These publishers' terms do not allow their figures to be reproduced without permission (or we could not confirm that they do), so we link to their reports instead of showing the numbers.
By industry
Selected figures, each with its source. Full tables live in each publisher's report.
Why sources disagree
Each factor moves the number on its own.
Four funnel stages, one phrase
"Lead conversion rate" is used loosely for visitor-to-lead, lead-to-MQL, MQL-to-SQL/opportunity, and lead-to-customer. These are sequential, multiplicative stages — a 33% lead-to-MQL rate says nothing about the eventual lead-to-customer rate, which also depends on MQL-to-SQL and SQL-to-close, each with their own (usually lower) conversion rate.
Sample size and source type vary enormously
Ruler Analytics' figure comes from 110M+ tracked sessions across its own customer base; First Page Sage's comes from 140+ accounts over five years. Both are vendor-reported (each company sells attribution or marketing services), so neither is an independent, third-party audit of the whole market.
Channel and industry move the number as much as the funnel stage does
Even within a single, consistently-measured visitor-to-lead stage, the rate varies by acquisition channel (organic search, paid search, email, social, direct, referral and others all convert differently) and by industry. A single site-wide average can mask large differences between your best and worst channels — compare against a cut that matches your own traffic mix, not just the headline figure.
What is a good lead conversion rate?
It depends on how your platform counts and who you send to.
If you're measuring visitor-to-lead
Ruler Analytics' 2026 benchmark (110M+ sessions, 5M+ conversions, 13 industries, published 2026-05-26) found a 5.13% overall average, with Automotive and Legal at 7.9%, Software at 7.6%, Travel at 1.9% and Health & Social Care at 2.3%. First Page Sage's much smaller, self-reported benchmark (140+ client accounts over 5 years) puts visitor-to-lead at 2.2% — a useful second data point, but not independently corroborating Ruler's figure given the very different sample size and likely different "lead" definition.
If you're measuring lead-to-MQL
LeanData's pipeline benchmarking report (run with Atrium, Clearbit, Modern Sales Pros and RevOps Squared) found a 33% median lead-form-to-MQL conversion rate, with the 75th percentile higher still. This is a 2022 report — treat it as a reference point, not a current figure, until a newer edition is confirmed.
Real estate, B2B SaaS and other frequently-asked industries
We did not find a current, credible, disclosed-methodology source specifically for real estate or B2B SaaS lead-to-customer conversion rates. Figures circulating online for these (commonly cited as 0.4-4% for real estate) could not be traced to one checkable, dated publisher with stated sample size this pass, so they are omitted rather than repeated here.
How to calculate lead conversion rate
- Name the exact stage: visitor-to-lead, lead-to-MQL, MQL-to-SQL/opportunity, or lead-to-customer are all different numbers and are not interchangeable.
- A full-funnel lead-to-customer rate is the product of every stage's conversion rate, not a single measured statistic most publishers report directly — we found no current, disclosed-methodology source that publishes it directly for a general industry benchmark.
- Vendor-published benchmarks reflect that vendor's own customer base, which skews toward whatever the vendor sells (attribution tooling, SEO services, CRM routing).
Questions about lead conversion rates
Tools to measure and improve it
Chosen for what they do, not ranked.
Sources and licence notes4 sources · 1 quoted · 3 linked only · checked Oct 1, 2026
- Ruler Analytics, Conversion Rate Benchmarks 2026 · 2026 edition · last checked Sep 30, 2026Linked only. Confirmed link_only: Ruler Analytics' Terms & Conditions state "Reproduction is prohibited other than in accordance with the copyright notice"; no citation exception found on that page.
- First Page Sage, Growth Marketing Metrics for 2026 · 2026 report · last checked Sep 30, 2026Linked only. PENDING: a terms-of-use page was not located at firstpagesage.com this pass. Link only until confirmed; cited here by name and figure only.
- LeanData (with Atrium, Clearbit, Modern Sales Pros, RevOps Squared), 2022 Inbound & Outbound Sales Pipeline Performance Benchmarking Report · 2022 edition · last checked Sep 30, 2026Linked only. PENDING: terms of use not checked this pass. Link only; cited here by name and figure only.
- First Page Sage, Website Traffic-to-Lead Conversion Rate: 2026 Report · 2026 report · last checked Oct 1, 2026Reported here as factual findings in our own wording and presentation, with attribution and a link to the source. This is not a claim that First Page Sage has granted a reproduction licence, and we do not copy its prose, charts, tables or page design. No terms or content-licence page could be found on firstpagesage.com (confirmed independently), and this publisher's other reports are already treated the same way on this site.
These are figures reported by the platforms themselves about their own customers; we do not measure them ourselves. Found an error or a newer edition? Tell us
