Email open rate benchmarks
Email open rate is the share of delivered emails that were opened. Here is every published figure we can show, side by side, with what each one counts.
21.5% to 58.8%
Across the sources we can show, published open rates run from 21.5% (Campaign Monitor, 2021 data) to 58.8% (Dotdigital's total-open count for the Americas). Current campaign figures sit between 30.41% and 43.46%. Most of that spread is about definitions, not performance: whether repeat opens count, which emails are included, and how Apple Mail's automatic opens are handled. 23 figures from 12 sources, grouped by what they count. We never average them.
Published email open rate figures by way of counting, from 21.5% to 58.8%. Every figure is listed in the source list below.
Tap or hover a point to see its source.
Key findings
Each one cites its source figures.
MailerLite's 2025 median across 3.6 million campaigns is the broadest current figure we can show. It counts Apple's automatic opens, and MailerLite itself says real open rates are lower.
MailerLiteThree separate e-commerce datasets agree closely: Omnisend campaigns (30.41% and 30.7%), Klaviyo campaigns (31%) and MailerLite's e-commerce median (32.67%). Online stores should compare against e-commerce figures, not all-industry medians.
OmnisendKlaviyoMailerLiteDotdigital's Americas data gives 40.08% when each recipient counts once and 58.8% when every open counts. The same pattern holds in EMEA (37% vs 56.3%) and APAC (34.5% vs 47.6%). Check which one a benchmark reports before comparing.
DotdigitalShow 3 more findings
Apple accounted for 62.26% of more than 1 billion opens Litmus tracked in July 2026, and Litmus files privacy-protected opens under Apple Mail. Most tracked opens come from the client family where automatic opens happen.
LitmusIn Klaviyo's 2026 data, automated flows open at almost the same rate as campaigns, but Klaviyo says they deliver 3x the click rate (5.58% vs 1.69%). Omnisend's benchmark article shows the same pattern (30.21% vs 30.41% opens; 4.66% vs 0.74% clicks). Judge automations by clicks.
KlaviyoOmnisendMailerLite's non-profit median and Higher Logic's association and nonprofit average are far apart for similar organisations. The platform, the statistic and the mix of emails move the number as much as the sector does.
MailerLiteHigher LogicSame data, different answers
How the way of counting changes the number, on one scale.
Same sends, two ways of counting
Dotdigital publishes unique and total open rates for the same campaigns in each region. Counting repeat opens adds 13 to 19 points.
Campaigns vs automated emails
Opens barely differ between campaigns and automations, and one publisher contradicts itself. Clicks tell the clearer story.
Same kind of sender, different platform
The platform, the statistic and the email mix move the number as much as the sector does.
Source by source
Open any source for its definition, sample and method.
MailerLiteEmail Marketing Benchmarks 2025: Is Your Open Rate on Track · 2025 edition43.46%campaign emailsGrade A
- What counts
- Campaign emails only. 'Open rate shows the percentage of the total campaign recipients who opened the email.' Unique vs total opens not stated on the page. Apple MPP opens included.
- Statistic
- Median (methodology says medians; the page's own sentences say 'average')
- Sample
- Over 3.6 million campaigns sent from 181,000 approved accounts
- Data window
- December 2024 – November 2025 (as stated)
- Apple's automatic opens
- Included. "Apple Mail Privacy Protection automatically marks emails sent to Apple Mail clients as opened. This means real open rates are lower than the metrics you see."
- Method
- A full year of MailerLite campaign data from approved accounts; the median is reported for every benchmark; broken down by 46 industries and 7 regions; compared with the 2024 edition.
- Published cuts
- industry (46) · region (7, incl. US and Canada, Europe) · metric: open, click, click-to-open, unsubscribe
- Limitations
- Vendor-reported: MailerLite customers only (small-business and creator skew)
- Apple MPP opens are included; MailerLite says real open rates are lower
- Unique vs total opens not defined on the page
- Wording inconsistency: sentences say 'average' while the methodology states medians
- Campaigns only; automated emails are not benchmarked
- Licence
- Terms (updated 2026-09-22, §23) restrict copying the Service, not published website content; silent on citing data. Headline plus a handful of cuts, attributed and linked.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
OmnisendOmnisend's 2026 ecommerce marketing report (with the companion 'Email Marketing Statistics 2026' page) · 2026 edition30.7%campaign emails38%automated emailsGrade A
- What counts
- Campaign vs automated emails from e-commerce stores. Open-rate formula, denominator and unique vs total opens are not stated.
- Statistic
- Not stated (the companion page says campaign open rates 'averaged')
- Sample
- 150,000 brands; 27 billion emails (plus 321 million SMS and 458 million push notifications)
- Data window
- Calendar year 2025 (compared with 2024)
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not stated in the report. Omnisend's benchmark article says MPP 'can make some emails appear opened before a subscriber reads them'.
- Method
- Platform-wide analysis of emails sent by Omnisend merchants in 2025; year-over-year growth compares 2025 with the same period of 2024.
- Published cuts
- campaign vs automated · automation type (companion pages) · industry (companion pages) · country (companion pages)
- Limitations
- E-commerce senders only
- Statistic and open-rate definition not stated
- Apple MPP handling not stated in the report
- Conflicts with Omnisend's own benchmark article for the same year (27,000+ brands): automated 30.21% vs campaigns 30.41% there, against automated 38% vs campaigns 30.7% here
- Companion statistics page still carries 2023 automation figures (42.1% open) next to 2025 ones: edition drift
- Licence
- Terms of use (effective 2022-05-12, §8) bar publishing 'Omnisend Content', but define it as material provided 'as part of the Services'; nothing on citing published report figures. Quote a few headline figures with attribution (medium risk, as assessed on 2026-09-24). The plan recorded an April 2026 terms version; the /terms-of-use/ page read today shows 2022-05-12.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
OmnisendEmail marketing benchmarks: What good looks like in 2026 · 2026 article (2025 data)30.41%campaigns30.21%automated emailsGrade B
- What counts
- Campaign vs automated emails from e-commerce stores; open-rate formula and unique vs total opens not stated. Apple MPP opens included.
- Statistic
- Not stated
- Sample
- 27,000+ brands; more than 20 billion campaign emails and 470 million automated email sends
- Data window
- Calendar year 2025
- Apple's automatic opens
- Included. "since 2021, Apple Mail's Mail Privacy Protection has been able to preload tracking pixels, which can make some emails appear opened before a subscriber reads them."
- Method
- Omnisend's own 2025 sending data for a 27,000+ brand set, split into campaigns and automations, reporting open, click, click-to-open and conversion rates.
- Published cuts
- campaign vs automated
- Limitations
- E-commerce senders only
- Statistic not stated
- A different, smaller brand set than the 2026 report; its automated open rate (30.21%) contradicts the report's 38%
- Apple MPP opens included (the article says so)
- Licence
- Same Omnisend terms as the report (restriction targets 'Omnisend Content' provided as part of the Services). A few figures, attributed and linked.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
DotdigitalEmail and SMS marketing benchmarks 2026: Americas edition · 2026 edition (public regional post; full Global Benchmark Report is gated)40.08%unique opens, Americas58.8%total opens, AmericasGrade B
- What counts
- Publishes both: open rate = total opened emails ÷ delivered × 100 (repeat opens count); unique open rate = unique openers ÷ delivered × 100.
- Statistic
- Averaged ('anonymized and averaged'); method of averaging not stated
- Sample
- Over a billion real marketing campaign sends
- Data window
- Not stated
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not mentioned on the page.
- Method
- Anonymised Dotdigital customer campaign data, averaged; formulas given for every metric; regional editions for Americas, EMEA and APAC.
- Published cuts
- region (Americas, EMEA, APAC in public posts) · industry and channel (gated full report) · email vs SMS
- Limitations
- Data window not stated
- Headline 'open rate' counts total opens, so it is not comparable with unique-open benchmarks
- Apple MPP not mentioned
- Vendor-reported; enterprise/retail customer mix
- Published click-to-open rate (2.8%) does not reconcile with the published CTR (2.5%) and open rate (58.8%), so the rates were evidently averaged separately; treat each as its own figure
- Licence
- Website terms (updated 2019-01-16) assert ownership of site content but contain no consent requirement or ban on citing figures. Regional figures quoted with attribution.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
DotdigitalEmail and SMS marketing benchmarks 2026: EMEA edition · 2026 edition (companion regional post to the Americas edition)37%unique opens, EMEA56.3%total opens, EMEAGrade B
- What counts
- Same formulas as the Americas edition: total-open and unique-open rates both published.
- Statistic
- Averaged (method not stated)
- Sample
- Over a billion anonymized campaigns (shared Dotdigital dataset)
- Data window
- Not stated
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not mentioned on the page.
- Method
- Regional cut of Dotdigital's 2026 benchmark dataset.
- Published cuts
- region (EMEA) · email vs SMS
- Limitations
- Data window not stated
- Apple MPP not mentioned
- Vendor-reported; enterprise/retail customer mix
- Licence
- Same Dotdigital website terms (silent on citing figures).
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
Show all 13 sources
DotdigitalEmail and SMS marketing benchmarks 2026: APAC edition · 2026 edition (companion regional post)34.5%unique opens, APAC47.6%total opens, APACGrade B
- What counts
- Same formulas as the Americas edition: total-open and unique-open rates both published.
- Statistic
- Averaged (method not stated)
- Sample
- Over a billion campaigns (shared Dotdigital dataset)
- Data window
- Not stated (year-over-year changes published)
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not mentioned on the page.
- Method
- Regional cut of Dotdigital's 2026 benchmark dataset, with year-over-year changes.
- Published cuts
- region (APAC) · email vs SMS
- Limitations
- Data window not stated
- Apple MPP not mentioned
- Year-over-year changes appear to be relative (%) changes, not points; the page does not say
- Licence
- Same Dotdigital website terms (silent on citing figures).
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
beehiivThe State of Newsletters 2026 · January 202641%+creator newslettersGrade B
- What counts
- Newsletters sent on beehiiv; how opens are counted is not stated.
- Statistic
- Headline only ('41%+'); statistic not stated
- Sample
- 28 billion emails to more than 255 million unique readers (platform totals)
- Data window
- Calendar year 2025 ('last year')
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not stated in the report.
- Method
- Newsletter growth and monetisation data pulled from across beehiiv, plus interviews with newsletter operators.
- Published cuts
- publisher type and list size are discussed, but no open-rate cuts were found
- Limitations
- Single platform, newsletters only
- Headline given as a floor ('41%+'), not a precise value
- No statistic, definition or MPP statement
- No click-through figure published in the report text
- Licence
- Terms of use (updated 2026-07-16, §6) cover 'beehiiv IP' (the Services); silent on reuse of published blog content. One headline figure quoted with attribution.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
Benchmark EmailEmail Marketing Benchmarks By Industry and Region · Undated25.54%campaign emailsGrade B
- What counts
- Not stated (unique vs total opens, denominator and MPP treatment not given).
- Statistic
- Average
- Sample
- 68,000 users in over 90 industries across 21 regions
- Data window
- Not stated
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not stated.
- Method
- Benchmark Email's own user data, broken down by industry, region and employee-size bracket.
- Published cuts
- industry (90+) · region (21) · company size (employee brackets)
- Limitations
- No publication date or data year, so it cannot be placed on a timeline
- Definition and MPP treatment not stated
- Vendor-reported; SMB skew
- Licence
- Terms of use (updated 2026-07-10) cover the platform; silent on citing website content. Overall figure quoted with attribution.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
Campaign Monitor (Marigold)Ultimate Email Marketing Benchmarks for 2022: By Industry and Day · 2022 edition (latest; no newer edition found) · older data21.5%campaign emailsGrade A
- What counts
- Not formally defined on the page.
- Statistic
- Average
- Sample
- Over 100 billion emails sent across Marigold's platforms in 2021
- Data window
- Calendar year 2021
- Apple's automatic opens
- Partly affected. "Mail Privacy Protection, it's a new privacy feature, released by Apple in September 2021"
- Method
- Emails sent across Campaign Monitor/Marigold platforms in 2021, by industry, day of week and region, with year-on-year change.
- Published cuts
- industry · day of week · region (AMER, UK, EU, APAC)
- Limitations
- Stale: 2021 data, the year MPP launched (September 2021)
- Pooled several Marigold platforms
- Definitions not stated
- Checked 2026-09-28: Campaign Monitor's 'Small Business Marketing 2025 – Part III' guide contains no newer benchmark data
- Licence
- Only customer-facing policies found (not re-opened this pass; assessed 2026-09-24 as silent on website content). Headline figure with stale badge.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
KlaviyoThe abandoned cart benchmarks report: 2024 data to inform your strategy · May 2024 · older data50.5%abandoned-cart flowsGrade A
- What counts
- Abandoned-cart flow emails only; open-rate definition not stated.
- Statistic
- Average, plus top 10% of brands
- Sample
- Over 143,000 abandoned-cart flows sent in 2023
- Data window
- Calendar year 2023
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not mentioned.
- Method
- 2023 performance data from abandoned-cart flows, comparing the average e-commerce brand with the top 10%, by industry vertical.
- Published cuts
- industry vertical · average vs top 10%
- Limitations
- Stale (2023 data); no newer abandoned-cart edition found
- One flow type only
- E-commerce only
- MPP not mentioned
- Licence
- Website terms (updated 2024-10-03) assert ownership and bar automated copying; no ban on quoting and no consent requirement. One figure quoted with attribution.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
Klaviyo2026 Email Marketing Benchmarks by Industry · 2026 edition (companion UK article: https://www.klaviyo.com/uk/blog/email-marketing-benchmarks-open-click-and-conversion-rates, 2026-02-24)31%campaigns, all verticals45.1%campaigns, top 10% of senders32.2%flows, all verticalsGrade B
- What counts
- Campaigns ('one-off emails sent to a specific marketing list') vs flows ('behaviour-triggered email sequences'); open-rate formula not stated; Apple MPP opens appear to be included (Klaviyo says MPP opens every email for enabled users).
- Statistic
- Average, plus top 10% of senders
- Sample
- Over 183,000 Klaviyo customers (product page); the UK article says 'data from over 205,000 brands'
- Data window
- Not stated
- Apple's automatic opens
- Acknowledged, not removed. "Open rate isn't 100% effective because Apple 'opens' each email for any user with an enabled Apple MPP, whether or not they actually open the email. But it can still be a good directional metric."
- Method
- Klaviyo customer sending data, all verticals and by industry, with average and top-10% tiers for campaigns and flows (open, click, placed-order rate).
- Published cuts
- email type (campaigns vs flows) · industry · average vs top 10%
- Limitations
- Data window not stated
- Sample stated inconsistently (183,000 customers vs 205,000 brands)
- E-commerce only
- Open-rate definition not stated
- Top-10% values are percentile tiers, not averages
- Licence
- Klaviyo website terms (updated 2024-10-03): ownership statement and a ban on automated copying; no personal-use-only clause, no consent requirement, silent on quoting. Headline plus a few cuts, attributed.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
Higher Logic2025–2026 Association Email Benchmark Report · 2025–2026 edition (full report gated; figures from the public release and https://www.higherlogic.com/blog/association-email-benchmark-insights-for-2026/)33.54%all emails pooledGrade B
- What counts
- All emails sent by member organisations on Higher Logic (one-time and automated); unique vs total opens and MPP treatment not stated in public pages.
- Statistic
- Average
- Sample
- Approximately 1,500 associations and nonprofits; more than 2 billion emails sent in 2025
- Data window
- Calendar year 2025 (multi-year trends 2022–2025)
- Apple's automatic opens
- Not stated in the public release or article.
- Method
- Higher Logic customer sending data for associations and nonprofits, with multi-year trends and segment benchmarks (list size, subject-line length, automated vs one-time) in the gated report.
- Published cuts
- list size · subject-line length · automated vs one-time sends · organisation type (associations and nonprofits)
- Limitations
- Association and nonprofit senders only
- Vendor-reported
- MPP treatment and open definition not stated publicly
- Methodology detail is in the gated report, not verified
- Licence
- Higher Logic's legal page lists subscription, AI, API, DPA, privacy and acceptable-use documents but no website terms of use, so terms are silent on citing published figures. Headline figures quoted with attribution.
- Checked
- Sep 28, 2026 · Read the source
9 more publishers, linked but not quoted
These publishers' terms do not allow their figures to be reproduced without permission (or we could not confirm that they do), so we link to their reports instead of showing the numbers.
- Constant Contact: What Is a Good Open Rate For Email in 2026? · 2026 (Q1 2026 data)
- Acoustic: 2026 marketing benchmark report · 2026 edition (2025 data); 2025 edition released 2025-03-11 (2024 data)
- M+R: M+R Benchmarks 2026: Email messaging · 2026 edition
- Omeda: The Impact of Apple's Mail Privacy Protection – 6 Months Later · Before/after study (context source)
- Kit (formerly ConvertKit): 2024 email marketing stats report for the creator economy · 2024
- Mailchimp: Email Marketing Benchmarks and Metrics Businesses Should Track · Data last updated December 2023
- GetResponse: 2024 Email Marketing Benchmarks · 2024 edition (no newer edition found)
- Brevo: Email Marketing Benchmarks: Region & Industry Data (2026) · 2026 edition
- ActiveCampaign: 2026 ActiveCampaign Email Marketing Benchmarks: Open & Click Rates by Industry · January 2026
By industry and region
Selected figures, each with its source. Full tables live in each publisher's report.
Why sources disagree
Each factor moves the number on its own.
of the more than 1 billion opens Litmus tracked in July 2026 came from Apple Mail, where Mail Privacy Protection can register opens automatically. Litmus files privacy-protected opens under Apple Mail.
Litmus, Email Client Market ShareApple released iOS 15 with Mail Privacy Protection, which downloads email content, including tracking pixels, in the background whether or not the message is read.
Apple NewsroomPlatforms flag these opens differently: Klaviyo marks them with an 'Apple Privacy Open' property, Twilio SendGrid with 'sg_machine_open', and Mailchimp lets you exclude them from reports only for emails sent on or after 22 June 2024.
Klaviyo Help Center, Twilio SendGrid Docs, Mailchimp MPP FAQsApple's automatic opens: counted, flagged or removed
Apple Mail Privacy Protection downloads email content in the background whether or not anyone reads the message, and each such download registers as an open. Most benchmarks leave these opens in: MailerLite says its real open rates are lower, Klaviyo calls open rate 'directional', and Constant Contact warns rates 'may be slightly inflated'. Platforms flag them differently (Klaviyo's 'Apple Privacy Open' property, SendGrid's 'sg_machine_open', Mailchimp's report toggle for emails sent from 2024-06-22), and only Brevo publishes a rate with them removed (see its report). Apple made up 62.26% of the opens Litmus tracked in July 2026.
One open per person, or every open
A unique open rate counts each recipient once; a total open rate counts every open, including repeats. Dotdigital publishes both for the same sends: 40.08% vs 58.8% in the Americas, 37% vs 56.3% in EMEA and 34.5% vs 47.6% in APAC. Most other publishers do not say which they use.
Delivered emails or all recipients
Dotdigital divides by delivered emails; MailerLite describes its rate as a share of 'total campaign recipients'; Constant Contact's formula uses delivered emails. In Dotdigital's data 99.4% of Americas emails were delivered, so the choice of denominator matters far less than the other definitions on this list.
Median, average or top-10% tier
MailerLite reports medians, so a few very strong senders cannot pull the figure up. Campaign Monitor, Benchmark Email, Klaviyo and Higher Logic report averages; Dotdigital 'anonymized and averaged'; Brevo uses unweighted averages with outliers removed. Omnisend and beehiiv do not say. Klaviyo also publishes top-10% tiers (45.1% for campaigns), which are thresholds, not averages. Dotdigital's own click-to-open rate (2.8%) does not reconcile with its click rate and open rate, a sign that each rate was averaged separately.
Campaigns, automations or everything
MailerLite benchmarks campaigns only. Klaviyo and Omnisend split campaigns from automated flows. Higher Logic pools one-time and automated sends. ActiveCampaign's figures include transactional emails (see its report). Klaviyo's 50.5% covers a single flow type, abandoned cart, in 2023.
Who sends through the platform
Klaviyo and Omnisend serve online stores, beehiiv serves newsletters, Higher Logic serves associations and nonprofits, MailerLite and Benchmark Email skew to small businesses, and Dotdigital to larger retail brands. Even one sector label moves with the platform: 'non-profit' is 52.38% (MailerLite median) against 33.54% for Higher Logic's associations and nonprofits (average).
Which period, and which edition
Campaign Monitor describes 2021, Klaviyo's abandoned-cart report 2023, and Benchmark Email's page carries no date. Dotdigital and Klaviyo's 2026 pages do not state a data window. The same publisher can disagree with itself: Omnisend's 2026 report gives automated emails 38%, while its benchmark article for the same year gives 30.21%.
What is a good email open rate?
It depends on how your platform counts and who you send to.
If your platform counts Apple's automatic opens (most do by default)
MailerLite's 2025 median of 43.46% across 181,000 accounts is a reasonable midpoint for campaigns. Sector cuts from the same source run from 32.67% (e-commerce) to 52.38% (non-profit). Treat Klaviyo's top-10% campaign tier (45.1%) as a high bar for online stores, not a typical result.
If you exclude Apple's automatic opens
None of the sources we can quote publishes a current open rate with Apple's automatic opens removed. Brevo does publish one, and it is far below its MPP-inclusive rate (see its report). The closest figure we can show is Campaign Monitor's 21.5% for 2021, a year only partly affected (MPP launched that September). Use it as a historical reference, not a current benchmark, and expect your filtered rate to sit well below the MPP-inclusive medians on this page.
E-commerce stores
Campaign open rates cluster tightly across three datasets: Omnisend 30.41% and 30.7%, Klaviyo 31%, and MailerLite's e-commerce median 32.67%. Automated flows open at about the same rate (Klaviyo 32.2%; Omnisend's benchmark article 30.21%) but click far more (5.58% and 4.66%). Abandoned-cart flows averaged 50.5% in Klaviyo's 2023 data.
B2B senders
No source we can quote publishes a B2B-wide open rate. The nearest cut is MailerLite's 2025 median for 'Software and web app' senders, 39.31%, which includes Apple's automatic opens. Clicks are the more telling comparison for B2B senders.
Newsletters
beehiiv reports open rates of '41%+' across 28 billion newsletter emails sent in 2025, and MailerLite's 2025 median for 'Publishing company' senders is 34.24%. Neither says how Apple's automatic opens are treated, so assume they are included.
Non-profits and associations
Sources disagree widely: MailerLite's non-profit median is 52.38%, while Higher Logic's average for about 1,500 associations and nonprofits is 33.54% (click rate 2.68%). M+R's 2026 nonprofit benchmarks publish no open rate at all. Compare against the source whose platform and statistic match yours, and lean on click rate.
Before you compare
- Never average these figures together: they count different things (unique or total opens, with or without Apple's automatic opens, medians or averages, campaigns or automations).
- Before comparing, check whether your platform includes Apple's automatic opens. Mailchimp only lets you exclude them for emails sent on or after 2024-06-22; Klaviyo marks them with an 'Apple Privacy Open' property; SendGrid flags them with 'sg_machine_open'.
- Machine-open flags are approximate: SendGrid notes that a real open made before Apple fetches the images is still flagged as a machine open.
Show 8 more cautions
- Do not compare a total-open rate (Dotdigital's headline 58.8%) with unique-open benchmarks; use Dotdigital's unique rate (40.08%) instead.
- Top-10% figures (Klaviyo 45.1% for campaigns) are performance tiers, not typical results.
- Click-to-open rate falls when opens are inflated, even if clicks hold steady. Campaign Monitor's 2021 CTOR fell 3.6 while opens rose 3.5, and Dotdigital's APAC CTOR fell 18.5% year on year while opens rose 11.8%. Read CTOR alongside click rate.
- Region labels do not nest: MailerLite's 'US and Canada', Dotdigital's 'Americas' and other publishers' 'North America' cover different countries.
- One publisher can publish conflicting numbers for the same year (Omnisend: automated opens 38% in its report, 30.21% in its benchmark article). Cite the exact page.
- Several sources leave out basics: Dotdigital and Klaviyo give no data window, Benchmark Email no date, beehiiv only a '41%+' floor, and Klaviyo's sample is 183,000 customers on one page and 205,000 brands on another.
- Every figure here comes from a vendor's own customers, so it reflects that platform's customer mix, not the whole market.
- Year-over-year comparisons that cross September 2021 mix Apple's measurement change with real behaviour.
How to calculate email open rate
- Use delivered emails, not sent emails: bounced messages never reached an inbox. (In Dotdigital's Americas data 99.4% of emails were delivered, so this matters less than the points below.)
- Say whether you count unique opens (each recipient once) or total opens (every open). Dotdigital's total-open rate runs 13 to 19 points above its unique rate.
- Check whether your platform includes Apple Mail Privacy Protection opens, and compare only with a benchmark that counts them the same way.
Questions about email open rates
Tools to measure and improve it
Chosen for what they do, not ranked.
Campaign reporting for opens, clicks and unsubscribes; MailerLite also publishes the median figures above.
Shows campaign and automation performance side by side, the split this page shows matters.
Marks Apple's automatic opens with an 'Apple Privacy Open' property, so you can tell them apart.
Priced by emails sent rather than list size; Brevo also publishes open rates with and without Apple's automatic opens.
Removes invalid and risky addresses before a send, which protects deliverability and the rates you measure.
Sources and licence notes22 sources · 12 quoted · 9 linked only · checked Sep 28, 2026
- MailerLite, Email Marketing Benchmarks 2025: Is Your Open Rate on Track · 2025 edition · last checked Sep 28, 2026Terms (updated 2026-09-22, §23) restrict copying the Service, not published website content; silent on citing data. Headline plus a handful of cuts, attributed and linked.
- Omnisend, Omnisend's 2026 ecommerce marketing report (with the companion 'Email Marketing Statistics 2026' page) · 2026 edition · last checked Sep 28, 2026Terms of use (effective 2022-05-12, §8) bar publishing 'Omnisend Content', but define it as material provided 'as part of the Services'; nothing on citing published report figures. Quote a few headline figures with attribution (medium risk, as assessed on 2026-09-24). The plan recorded an April 2026 terms version; the /terms-of-use/ page read today shows 2022-05-12.
- Omnisend, Email marketing benchmarks: What good looks like in 2026 · 2026 article (2025 data) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Same Omnisend terms as the report (restriction targets 'Omnisend Content' provided as part of the Services). A few figures, attributed and linked.
- Dotdigital, Email and SMS marketing benchmarks 2026: Americas edition · 2026 edition (public regional post; full Global Benchmark Report is gated) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Website terms (updated 2019-01-16) assert ownership of site content but contain no consent requirement or ban on citing figures. Regional figures quoted with attribution.
- Dotdigital, Email and SMS marketing benchmarks 2026: EMEA edition · 2026 edition (companion regional post to the Americas edition) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Same Dotdigital website terms (silent on citing figures).
- Dotdigital, Email and SMS marketing benchmarks 2026: APAC edition · 2026 edition (companion regional post) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Same Dotdigital website terms (silent on citing figures).
- beehiiv, The State of Newsletters 2026 · January 2026 · last checked Sep 28, 2026Terms of use (updated 2026-07-16, §6) cover 'beehiiv IP' (the Services); silent on reuse of published blog content. One headline figure quoted with attribution.
- Benchmark Email, Email Marketing Benchmarks By Industry and Region · Undated · last checked Sep 28, 2026Terms of use (updated 2026-07-10) cover the platform; silent on citing website content. Overall figure quoted with attribution.
- Campaign Monitor (Marigold), Ultimate Email Marketing Benchmarks for 2022: By Industry and Day · 2022 edition (latest; no newer edition found) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Only customer-facing policies found (not re-opened this pass; assessed 2026-09-24 as silent on website content). Headline figure with stale badge.
- Klaviyo, The abandoned cart benchmarks report: 2024 data to inform your strategy · May 2024 · last checked Sep 28, 2026Website terms (updated 2024-10-03) assert ownership and bar automated copying; no ban on quoting and no consent requirement. One figure quoted with attribution.
- Klaviyo, 2026 Email Marketing Benchmarks by Industry · 2026 edition (companion UK article: https://www.klaviyo.com/uk/blog/email-marketing-benchmarks-open-click-and-conversion-rates, 2026-02-24) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Klaviyo website terms (updated 2024-10-03): ownership statement and a ban on automated copying; no personal-use-only clause, no consent requirement, silent on quoting. Headline plus a few cuts, attributed.
- Higher Logic, 2025–2026 Association Email Benchmark Report · 2025–2026 edition (full report gated; figures from the public release and https://www.higherlogic.com/blog/association-email-benchmark-insights-for-2026/) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Higher Logic's legal page lists subscription, AI, API, DPA, privacy and acceptable-use documents but no website terms of use, so terms are silent on citing published figures. Headline figures quoted with attribution.
- Litmus, Email Client Market Share · Monthly; July 2026 data shown on 2026-09-28 · last checked Sep 28, 2026Explicit licence, but non-commercial (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0). A commercial site should not reproduce the table; quote the single Apple figure with the citation and link Litmus asks for.
- Constant Contact, What Is a Good Open Rate For Email in 2026? · 2026 (Q1 2026 data) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. PENDING: the terms page (https://www.constantcontact.com/legal/terms) returns HTTP 403 or a CAPTCHA to our fetcher, so the terms could not be read. Link only until someone reads them in a browser; move to quote if they are silent on citing.
- Acoustic, 2026 marketing benchmark report · 2026 edition (2025 data); 2025 edition released 2025-03-11 (2024 data) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. Website terms grant only a non-commercial permission to view pages 'as a customer or potential customer' and bar mirroring content: equivalent to personal use only. Link only.
- M+R, M+R Benchmarks 2026: Email messaging · 2026 edition · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. PENDING: no website terms found (only '© M+R 2026' and a privacy policy at https://www.mrss.com/privacy-policy/). Likely quote-eligible once sample and terms are confirmed; link only until then.
- Omeda, The Impact of Apple's Mail Privacy Protection – 6 Months Later · Before/after study (context source) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. PENDING: the guessed terms URL returned 404; a search-engine summary says Omeda's terms require 'express prior written consent' to reproduce 'Omeda Materials'. Link only until the terms page is read.
- Kit (formerly ConvertKit), 2024 email marketing stats report for the creator economy · 2024 · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. Grade C, so no figures are displayed under the plan (A/B only); terms not checked. At most an 'also reported by' mention.
- Mailchimp, Email Marketing Benchmarks and Metrics Businesses Should Track · Data last updated December 2023 · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. Kept link_only. RE-CHECK FINDING: the Standard Terms contain an ownership clause (§15) but no 'prior written consent', 'no reproduction' or 'personal use only' clause for Mailchimp Site content. Under §8.5 as written that reads as 'silent', which would make the source quote-eligible. Owner decision needed.
- GetResponse, 2024 Email Marketing Benchmarks · 2024 edition (no newer edition found) · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. Confirmed link_only: terms (effective 2026-06-09, §XIII) require express written consent to reproduce 'GetResponse Property', defined to include content on the Site and Websites.
- Brevo, Email Marketing Benchmarks: Region & Industry Data (2026) · 2026 edition · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. Confirmed link_only: terms (version 2025-10-01, §8.2) prohibit copying or republishing site Contents without prior written permission.
- ActiveCampaign, 2026 ActiveCampaign Email Marketing Benchmarks: Open & Click Rates by Industry · January 2026 · last checked Sep 28, 2026Linked only. Confirmed link_only: Terms of Service (updated 2025-12-23, §8) prohibit copying or displaying ActiveCampaign Content without prior written permission.
These are figures reported by the platforms themselves about their own customers; we do not measure them ourselves. Found an error or a newer edition? Tell us
