Productivity & Business · Collaboration

Dropbox Sign (formerly HelloSign)

Dropbox Sign, formerly HelloSign, is an e-signature tool with a free plan of 3 signature requests a month and paid plans for one user or a team.

Our take: Pricing is easy to read: a Free plan with 3 signature requests a month, then paid tiers split by user count.

Best forOccasional e-signature sends
ReviewedPricing: Freemium
Try DropboxFree plan; Essentials $15/mo billed yearly

HelloSign is now called Dropbox Sign, and it still has a free plan: 3 signature requests a month plus unlimited self-signing, according to Dropbox's help article updated 4 December 2025. Paid plans are Essentials at $15 a month billed yearly for one user and Standard at $25 per user a month billed yearly, with Premium by custom quote, as shown on Dropbox Sign's pricing page and checked on 2 November 2026.

HelloSign is now Dropbox Sign

Dropbox's product-updates page for October 2022 lists these renames: HelloSign to Dropbox Sign, the HelloSign API to the Dropbox Sign API, HelloWorks to Dropbox Forms and HelloFax to Dropbox Fax, made after the company joined the Dropbox family.

Dropbox's current pricing page and terms use the Dropbox Sign name, and the older address app.hellosign.com still opens a Dropbox Sign log-in page. This page was checked on 2 November 2026.

Checked November 2, 2026
The bottom line

A clear option for light e-signature use, and a per-user purchase once you need branding or bulk send.

Our score

Reviewed by the Conversion Gems editorial team. Hover a facet to focus it; click to pin.Tap a facet to focus it.

What it is, and why we rate it

One line each. Open a row for detail.

What it really isE-signature software from Dropbox, renamed from HelloSign, with a capped Free plan and paid plans priced per user.
Our takePricing is easy to read: a Free plan with 3 signature requests a month, then paid tiers split by user count.
Three limits matter: the cap, the two-user floor on Standard, and branding, bulk send and reporting starting at that tier. The vendor home page mentions only the 30-day trial, not the Free plan, so read the pricing page before choosing.
Why we rate itPrices and limits are published and the Free plan is real, but branding, bulk send and reporting need Standard with a two-user minimum.
The catchThe Free plan stops at 3 signature requests per 30 days, and paid subscriptions renew automatically unless you change or cancel them.

Best / not good for

Best for
  • Freelancers who send a few agreements a month
  • Small teams that want branding and bulk send on a published per-user price
  • People who mostly sign their own documents, which the Free plan allows without limit
Not good for
  • Anyone sending more than 3 signature requests a month on the Free plan
  • Single users who need branding or bulk send, which Essentials does not list
  • Buyers who want to compare a price for five or more users without talking to sales
Trade-offs

Friction report

Trade-offs to know before signing up.

  1. Time to value
    Recipients sign without an account, and the pricing page links both a trial and the Free plan; the pages read give no setup time.
  2. Scale breakpoint
    Standard needs two or more users, and Premium is listed for five or more users on a custom quote; template limits are 5, 15 and unlimited.
  3. Walled garden
    The API is a separate product with its own pricing, shown on the home page from $75 per 50 requests a month billed yearly.

Dropbox Sign plans and prices

PlanUsersBilled yearly (per month)Billed monthlyTemplatesWhat Dropbox lists
FreeNot statedFreeFreeNot stated3 signature requests a month, renewing every 30 days from sign-up; unlimited self-signing; audit trail on completed requests; bulk send is not included (help article)
Essentials1$15 ($180 billed yearly)$205Unlimited signature requests, audit trail, Template Gallery, reminders and notifications; no signer attachments, in-person signing, branding, bulk send or reporting
Standard2 or more (contact sales for 5 or more)$25 per user (starting at $600 billed yearly)$30 per user15Adds signer attachments, in-person signing, certifications, branding, bulk send and reporting over Essentials; select integrations such as Salesforce are listed as an add-on
Premium5 or moreCustom quoteCustom quoteUnlimitedContact sales for a quote

From Dropbox Sign's pricing page, with both billing views read in a browser and checked 2 November 2026; the Free plan row comes from Dropbox's help article. Prices are in US dollars as the page showed them to a browser outside the United States. The page heading promises unlimited signature requests with no hidden fees, and its feature table lists SMS authentication from Standard, and single sign-on and data residency on Premium only. The home page lists the separate Dropbox Sign API from $75 per 50 requests a month billed yearly.

Free plan or 30-day free trial

QuestionFree plan30-day free trial
What it isA permanent plan with a monthly cap, according to the help article updated 4 December 2025.Access to features only available in paid plans for 30 days, according to the pricing FAQ.
Limit3 signature requests a month, renewing every 30 days from the day you sign up; unlimited self-signing.30 days; the FAQ says you are not charged if you end the trial within 30 days.
What countsDocuments sent together in one bundle count as one request; editing a sent document with Edit & Resend uses another.Not stated.
Bulk sendNot included; the help article lists it for Standard and Premium.Paid-plan features are available during the trial; the FAQ does not list which.
Where Dropbox shows itLinked from the pricing page as Try our free plan; not mentioned on the home page.A 30-day free trial is promoted on the home page, with a note to cancel anytime during the trial, and the pricing page has Start free trial buttons.

From Dropbox's help articles 'Can I use Dropbox Sign for free?' and 'Dropbox Sign free document limits' (both updated 4 December 2025) and the pricing page FAQ, checked 2 November 2026. Subscriptions renew automatically unless you change or cancel them, according to the pricing FAQ.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is HelloSign free?

Yes, in a limited form. HelloSign is now Dropbox Sign, and Dropbox's help article (updated 4 December 2025) says the Free plan lets you send 3 signature requests a month, renewing every 30 days from the day you sign up, with unlimited self-signing that does not count toward the 3. A bundle of documents sent together counts as one request, and editing a sent document with Edit & Resend uses another (checked 2 November 2026).

Is HelloSign now Dropbox Sign?

Yes. Dropbox's product-updates page for October 2022 says HelloSign is now Dropbox Sign, that the HelloSign API became the Dropbox Sign API, HelloWorks became Dropbox Forms and HelloFax became Dropbox Fax, and that the change came after the company joined the Dropbox family. Today's pricing and terms pages use the Dropbox Sign name, and the terms posted 7 January 2025 name Dropbox, Inc. as the contracting company for customers in the United States, Canada and Mexico (checked 2 November 2026).

How much does Dropbox Sign (HelloSign) cost?

On Dropbox Sign's pricing page, Essentials for one user is $15 a month billed yearly ($180 a year) or $20 a month billed monthly, and Standard for two or more users is $25 per user a month billed yearly (from $600 a year) or $30 per user a month billed monthly. Premium, for five or more users, is a custom quote, and the Free plan costs nothing. The home page lists the separate API from $75 per 50 requests a month billed yearly. The page showed USD prices to a browser outside the US (checked 2 November 2026).

What is the difference between the free plan and the free trial?

The free plan is permanent but capped, while the trial opens paid features for 30 days. The Free plan allows 3 signature requests a month and unlimited self-signing, and bulk send is only on Standard and Premium. Dropbox Sign's pricing FAQ says a 30-day trial gives access to features only available in paid plans and that you are not charged if you end it within 30 days. The sign.dropbox.com home page promotes the trial without mentioning the free plan, which the pricing page links as Try our free plan (checked 2 November 2026).

What is HelloSign used for?

It is used to send documents for electronic signature, sign your own documents and keep the signed copies. Dropbox Sign's home page says recipients review and sign securely without an account and that it works with Dropbox, Google Drive, Salesforce, OneDrive and other tools. Its pricing FAQ says its eSignatures are legally binding under the ESIGN Act of 2000 and that every request carries a non-editable audit trail; whether that is enough for a particular document is for you or your adviser to check.

How do I log in to Dropbox Sign (HelloSign)?

Use the Sign in menu on sign.dropbox.com, whose Dropbox Sign entry goes to https://app.sign.dropbox.com/account/logIn; the older address app.hellosign.com also opens a Dropbox Sign log-in page. Conversion Gems is a review site and cannot sign anyone in; it only loaded those pages and did not use them. Dropbox's help center also has a troubleshooting article for signing in to Dropbox Sign from Dropbox (checked 2 November 2026).

Dropbox Sign (formerly HelloSign) alternatives

Other e-signature tools from our reviews:

Conversion Gems independently reviews every tool.

Tags

#DropboxSign#HelloSign#ESignature